One Cross-Border Friendship that led to several others: Story of Jenis (India) and Atif (Pakistan)

As part of our call to share about their friend(s) beyond the Indopak Border, Jenis Samuel from Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu), India shared the story of his friendship with Atif Munir of Karachi, Pakistan. Jenis writes,

indo-pak-friendship-story-of-jenis-india-and-atif-pakistan

“This story is about me and my best friend, Atif. I am an Indian Christian and he is a Pakistani Muslim and this didn’t stop us from being best friends!

I still remember the date when we met on Facebook. It’s well-etched in my mind. It was 4th July 2013. We had met through an online game on Facebook. I felt like adding him and asked him if would be fine with us being connected on Facebook. He readily accepted and thus, began our journey of friendship.

Day by day our friendship became stronger and with time, we became brothers! It’s about three and a half years now. Our love, friendship and bond of brotherhood still remains the same. Moreover it is increasing day by day. He has always been like a mentor to me. He has seriously influenced me in many ways in my life!

We shared a lot and understood that we people are no longer different! Our friendship grew from Facebook web, passed through apps like Whatsapp and now it stands with Whatsapp video call and Skype!

He is well popular among my friends in India. Initially, I did face a lot of stereotypes and misconceptions, with few even bashing our friendship. I never gave serious thought to the negativity and cherished our friendship and I am glad I did!

He was my first Pakistani friend who helped me in understanding Pakistan and Pakistanis. He showed me how an ordinary Pakistani is. Now my friend list has about 1000+ friends from Pakistan. Still he remains the best friend both in real and virtual world!

We celebrate Eid, Christmas, New Year, our birthdays in virtual world! We have never missed any special day and all goes with laughter and joy!

The only thing that I aspire is to meet him in person now. I really hope that it happens soon! I am awaiting any opportunity to travel to Karachi to meet him.

What I understood from our friendship is there is no nationality in friendship. Amongst many fake, so called friendship bonds, ours stood for more than 3 years and it will continue forever. I am convinced that when people of India and Pakistan will speak to each other, they will love each other and will have a good, never-ending spirit of friendship!”

Do you have a friend(s) across the border, share your story with us. Send us your story along with photographs at aaghazedosti@gmail.com

About aaghazedosti

Aaghaz-e-Dosti is an Indo-Pak Friendship Initiative

Posted on November 26, 2016, in Stories of Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Any thoughts?

